Christian Kane

I discovered this little nugget the other day when I was preparing birthday shout outs for our facebook fan page.

You may know him from his television roles - Jake Stone in The Librarians, Lindsey MacDonald in Angel, Eliot Spencer in Leverage, Abe Wheeler in Into The West, or as JT Maxwell in King & Maxwell. Or you may know him from his various movie roles in Good Day For It, Love Song, Hide, or The Donner Party, just to name a few.

But did you know that Christian Kane is also the lead singer of a country-southern rock band?

In 1997, Christian Kane met Steve Carlson. They started writing songs together, and in 1998, they formed the Southern rock band Kane. They have toured the U.S. as well as England and Germany. The band has self-released two albums, their self-titled debut, Kane, in 2000 and a recording of a live acoustic set, Acoustic Live In London! in 2004.

The band consists of Christian Kane (lead vocals, guitar), Steve Carlson (rhythm guitar, backing vocals), Jason Southard (lead guitar), Will Amend (bass guitar), and Ryan Baker (drums) and is signed to independent record label Bigger Picture Group (Zac Brown Band, Big Kenny, The Harters). Their label debut, The House Rules, was released December 7, 2010. It debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Heatseekers album chart and No. 25 on the Country Albums chart. The album was produced by Bob Ezrin and Jimmie Lee Sloas.

The first single from the album, also titled "The House Rules" debuted at No. 54 on the Billboard Country Songs chart and was the 7th most added song on Mediabase Country stations on its official impact date. The video for the single was directed by Timothy Hutton and premiered on CMT's Big New Music Weekend October 1, 2010. "The House Rules" was featured in the video game NASCAR 09.  The second single, Let Me Go, was released on July 11, 2011. The video for the single was directed by Roman White, it premiered on CMT August 8, 2011 and reached No. 1 on their Today's Top Videos chart.

Christian Kane is also signed to a songwriting deal with EMI Music Publishing and writes much of his own material. Trace Adkins released a song written by Kane called "Happy Man" on his 2010 album, Cowboy's Back in Town.

Kane's co-writing efforts include songs written with Blair Daly, Brett James, David Lee Murphy, Casey Beathard, and Jerrod Niemann. "Thinking of You", a song he co-wrote with Blair Daly, featured in episode 3X06, "The Studio Job", of Leverage.

Enjoy one of his songs that he co-wrote and performs:

What does tomorrow bring?

Tune in to find out! 

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Hey did you know ...

You can now submit a request for a specific Artist, Song, or Theme
Check it out up at the top of the page under "Requests"


Recent Posts

Recent Posts Widget